Model assessment · Echelon

Echelon Connect EX-1 — manual-family reference review

A source-based reference to the individually identified Connect EX-1 / ECHEX-1 manual family. A U.S. retailer and reseller also identify Echelon EX1/ECHEX-1 product records, but they do not establish an active current offer, manufacturer retail SKU, or serial-specific manual version.

Sources checked 2026-11-03 · Our editorial approach

Manual-family reference only. Confirm an exact model label, applicable manual/serial, package and seller terms; this is not a purchase match.

Rider using a black-and-red Echelon Connect EX-1 cycle with a mounted tablet holder
Echelon manufacturer manual-cover image for the EX-1 family; retail unit and package are not verified. Echelon Connect EX-1 instruction manual cover
A useful fit for

Useful as an identification and operating-limit reference when a seller claims an Echelon Connect EX-1: the named manual shows a seated indoor cycle, a 300 lb limit, specific adjustment directions and a manual resistance knob. It is not an exact-unit buying assessment.

The main tradeoff

The evidence does not establish a current US retail SKU or offer, a serial-specific configuration, body dimensions, machine weight, resistance mechanism or level count, screen size, third-party app support, current subscription terms, or what is included in a particular package.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What weight limit and safe-use space does the EX-1 manual state?

The manual states a 300 lb maximum user weight. It separately recommends two feet of clearance around the bike and describes a minimum 19.7 in at one side and either in front or behind. No assembled body dimensions were found in the reviewed manual, so do not substitute its access-clearance guidance for the machine footprint or transfer it to an unverified unit.

Which fit adjustments and cockpit equipment are actually documented?

The illustrated manual shows seat height and fore/aft adjustment, vertical handlebar adjustment, a resistance knob, a console with tablet holder, a seat-mounted dumbbell holder, two bottle holders and strapped/cage-style pedals. It does not publish adjustment travel or rider-height range, confirm SPD compatibility, or prove what a seller's package contains.

Does this manual prove a current screen, app plan or exact EX-1 offer?

No. It directs users to install Echelon Fit, sign in and connect for tutorials/classes; the 2020 manual's account flow includes choosing a plan, but current membership terms and included devices are not established. Its warranty page identifies model ECHEX-1 and Rev 082720. The current US collection pages checked for this assessment do not list an EX-1 retail offer, so confirm the seller's unit label, serial, applicable instructions, package and terms before treating any listing as equivalent.

This is a source-based manual-family assessment, not a report of hands-on use or a buying recommendation. Echelon Support labels an attachment “Connect EX-1 Manual.” The linked 24-page instruction manual names the family EX-1 on its cover and identifies model ECHEX-1, revision 082720, on its warranty page. That is useful model-family evidence; it is not a serial-number crosswalk, a current retail SKU, or proof that a particular seller's bike matches this edition.

What the manual establishes about the bike

The manual illustrates a seated indoor cycle with a saddle, handlebars, pedals, front flywheel and a user-adjusted resistance knob. Its parts list names a console with tablet holder, a seat-mounted dumbbell holder, two bottle holders, pedals, front and rear feet and a power adapter. The illustrations show straps or cages on the pedals, but do not establish SPD compatibility. Nor do they show that a tablet is included with a particular offer. The cover image below is the manufacturer's EX-1 manual-cover photo; it identifies the manual family, not an individual retail unit, seller package or current revision.

The control deserves careful wording. The EX-1 manual labels a resistance-adjustment knob and instructs users not to adjust resistance while standing. It does not specify a magnetic, friction or other resistance mechanism, nor does it publish a numbered level count. A knob alone is not evidence for any particular numbered level count. The manual also gives no confirmed power curve, noise measurement or workout performance figure, so none is inferred here.

Fit information is helpful but incomplete

The seat moves vertically and fore/aft; the handlebars move vertically. Those are meaningful adjustment directions, but the document gives no travel distances, rider-height range, minimum inseam or fitting guarantee. The manual states a 300 lb maximum user weight. Treat that as the manufacturer's stated operating ceiling, not as an individualized assessment of stability or comfort.

The reviewed manual does not give an assembled body length, width or height, and it does not state machine weight. Its room guidance is a separate matter: it recommends two feet of clearance around the bike for safe mounting and dismounting, while also specifying a minimum of 19.7 inches at one side and either in front or behind. Those safety-space directions are not a footprint measurement. Before moving or assembling a bike, verify its exact frame dimensions and route through doors rather than estimating from a manual photo.

The safety section also says to wait for the pedals to stop before dismounting, not to stand at high pedal revolutions, and not to adjust resistance or handlebar position while standing. It calls for a level floor, secured seat and handlebars, and regular checks of wear parts. These are practical constraints for planning a routine and supervising assembly; they should not be replaced by generic claims that any indoor cycle is suitable for every workout style.

Account setup and the physical package are different questions

The manual directs owners to install Echelon Fit and connect to it for tutorials and operating instructions. Its 2020 quick-start flow describes an account, plan and class setup. That is evidence of the software route documented in this manual revision, not a statement of current membership pricing, current service availability, or whether a particular unit can be pedaled without the app. The reviewed sources name no Explore the World, JRNY or Zwift support for this family.

Assembly is illustrated step by step. The manual shows the console wiring being routed through the handlebar post, the console mounted to that post, bottle holders attached, and the two pedals fitted with different threading directions. The parts list includes a power adapter, but an older used unit still needs its adapter, pedals and other hardware checked in person; the manual cannot show what is in a seller's box. Its warranty page states a one-year limited warranty for the 2020 document, which does not establish current coverage or remaining warranty on an individual bike.

Why this remains a reference, not a shortlist pick

The current Echelon US Connect Bikes page checked for this assessment lists EX-8s, EX-5s-22 and EX-5, not an EX-1 offer; the US all-products Bikes section likewise does not surface an EX-1 retail card. A separate U.S. Walmart product record names “Echelon EX1 Smart Connect” and describes a 90-day Premier membership offer, but its status showed out of stock when checked. A U.S. resale page separately records Brand Echelon and Model ECHEX-1, also marked sold out. North Castle Partners describes EX-1 as Echelon's first connected product, the “Connect Bike,” launched in January 2018. Taken with the model code on the manual, these records support treating EX-1, EX1 and ECHEX-1 as the same named family; the Walmart item number and reseller item ID are not manufacturer SKUs.

The Walmart listing advertises 32 magnetic resistance levels, while the manual only identifies a resistance knob and does not state its mechanism or count. That remains a retailer-attributed listing claim, not a verified capability for every EX-1 or a particular serial-numbered unit. The reseller page also supplies a footprint, but the manual does not; use measured dimensions from the actual seller or unit rather than treating a single resale record as a universal specification. Neither seller connects a unit serial to the Rev 082720 manual, establishes current availability, or proves the entire contents of a particular package. A current-page omission does not prove that every EX-1 is permanently discontinued or that no used unit exists.

For a specific listing, compare the frame label and serial with the instructions supplied for that unit; check the full model suffix, present condition, adapter and pedals, included tablet or display, subscription terms, seller warranty and return policy. Ask for actual dimensions if room fit matters. The model-family identity is now corroborated, but the unverified unit/package bridge keeps this reference outside the finder and makes no purchase match. It records what the manual says, what separate retailer records claim, and where both kinds of evidence stop.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Riding formatIndoor cycling / studio-style bike
Maximum user weight300 lb
ConsoleThe manual parts list names a console with tablet holder, and the cover depicts a device mounted above the bars. It does not establish a built-in touchscreen, display size, or that a tablet is included with a particular offer.
Named connected appsEchelon Fit

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Put the details together

Use the finder to compare format, app support, resistance steps and the limits that matter in your room.

In this review