Model assessment · Echelon

Echelon Connect EX-3 (Black Model ECH01-EX3-BLACK) — reference assessment review

A historical U.S. Lowe's product record identifies one black Echelon EX-3 retail configuration, Model ECH01-EX3-BLACK, and says the item is no longer sold there. The separate manufacturer manual family identifies Model EX-3, Rev 032321; the exact manual for any particular physical unit still requires a serial-number check.

Sources checked 2026-11-03 · Our editorial approach

Manual-family reference only. Match the physical model label and serial to applicable instructions, then verify the adapter, app/service terms and seller package; this is not a purchase match.

Rider using a black-and-red Echelon Connect indoor cycle shown on the official EX-3 manual cover
Echelon EX-3 manual-cover image; exact retail unit and package are not verified. Echelon Connect EX-3 instruction manual cover
A useful fit for

A reference for people identifying one historic U.S. black EX-3 SKU and comparing its retailer record with the separate EX-3 Rev 032321 manual family. It is not a current purchase recommendation or a tested unit.

The main tradeoff

The Lowe's item is no longer sold there; the current Echelon collection checked does not list EX-3. The 300 lb limit, retailer-reported 32-level magnetic resistance, dimensions, mass and toe-cage pedals are tied to the dated black SKU listing, not an inspected used unit; the correct manual for a specific unit still requires its serial.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What space and capacity does the documented black EX-3 listing show?

The 24-page Model EX-3 Rev 032321 manual states a 300 lb maximum and separately recommends two feet of clearance around the bike, with a minimum 19.7 in at one side and either in front or behind. Lowe's also listed 300 lb for black Model ECH01-EX3-BLACK and gave 48 x 20 x 44 in assembled dimensions and 104 lb. The size and mass are retailer-page claims for that model code, not measured values or clearance guidance; confirm the serial and measure any used unit.

What cockpit and package details are documented for ECH01-EX3-BLACK?

The manual family shows a vertically and fore/aft adjustable seat, vertically adjustable handlebars, a console/tablet holder, resistance lever, bottle holders and a seat-post dumbbell holder. Lowe's listing for the black ECH01-EX3-BLACK adds that a tablet is not included and describes clip-in SPD-compatible toe-cage pedals and a rotating console. These are historical listing claims, not proof that a used seller still has the same parts or offer package.

Is the EX-3 resistance setup app-independent or currently offered?

The EX-3 manual itself does not state a numbered resistance level count or physical mechanism. Lowe's historical listing for black ECH01-EX3-BLACK reports magnetic resistance with 32 levels; Echelon support describes a powered Echelon Fit/Bluetooth procedure for resistance activation. Lowe's now says the listing is no longer sold, and current membership or used-unit app behavior is not established. Match a physical unit label and serial with Echelon support before relying on the manual or features.

This assessment now identifies one documented former U.S. retail configuration: Lowe's listed a black Echelon EX-3 Connect Smart Bike as Model ECH01-EX3-BLACK (Item 3521974). The listing now says the item is no longer sold there. The bike was not inspected in person, and the listing does not connect every physical EX-3 unit to the specific manual revision discussed below. This remains a source-based reference, not a current buying recommendation.

What the document actually identifies

Echelon Support's article is titled “Connect EX-3 Bike Manual” and links a 24-page English instruction manual. Its cover says EX-3; the warranty panel names Model EX-3 and gives the document revision as 032321. That is a useful match point for an existing bike, but it does not identify an exact retail SKU, production run or serial-specific configuration. The warranty statement in this dated manual is not proof that any present owner still has coverage.

The U.S. Connect Bikes page checked on October 31, 2026 lists the EX-8s, EX-5s-22 and EX-5, not an EX-3 offer; an older U.S. EX-3 product route redirects to a general collection. Lowe's later page identifies one black model code and states that its listing is no longer sold. These dated records establish a historical U.S. retail SKU, not permanent discontinuation across every seller or a match between any used bike's serial number and Rev 032321.

A seated indoor-cycle layout, with some adjustments

The manual depicts a saddle-and-crank indoor cycle rather than a recumbent bike or an air bike. Its parts inventory includes a console with a tablet holder, an adjustment lever for resistance, pedals, two water-bottle holders, a dumbbell holder attached at the seat post, a power adapter and the frame supports. The seat can be moved up and down and fore/aft; the handlebar post adjusts vertically. These are practical setup options, but the manual publishes neither adjustment travel nor a rider-height range. A drawing cannot tell a buyer whether the reach or saddle shape will feel comfortable.

The tablet holder is not the same as an integrated display. The manual demonstrates adjusting the holder for different tablet sizes, but does not state a screen size or confirm that a tablet is part of a specific offer. Its parts list is a guide to the documented build, not proof that a used bike includes its adapter, holder, pedals or small hardware.

Resistance has an important app and power caveat

The manual itself names a resistance adjustment lever or dial but does not specify a mechanism or numbered level count. Lowe's listing for the exact black model code ECH01-EX3-BLACK describes magnetic resistance with 32 levels. That is useful evidence for this retailer-listed configuration; it should not be transferred to another EX-3 label or used unit without a matching model identifier.

Echelon's later EX3 troubleshooting instructions add meaningful operating context: they tell the user to connect power, sign into Echelon Fit, pair the bike over Bluetooth, start an On Demand class and then pedal while turning the tension dial during the described activation or calibration procedure. A separate setup article says both the app and Bluetooth connection need to be active for the resistance dial to activate while pedalling. That is more specific than merely calling the bike “connected,” but it does not settle today's subscription rules, app-independent operation or support for other apps. Anyone considering a particular used unit should confirm it can power up and connect through the exact account and device arrangement they plan to use.

Capacity and space: do not confuse the two numbers

The manual's safety section states a 300 lb maximum user weight; Lowe's also lists that limit for the black ECH01-EX3-BLACK. This is a manufacturer/retailer limit, not an individualized comfort or medical assessment. The manual recommends two feet of clearance on all sides for mounting and dismounting, then separately gives a minimum arrangement of about 19.7 inches at one side and either in front or behind. Those are access-space instructions—not the bike's length or width. Lowe's lists the black configuration at 48 × 20 × 44 inches assembled and 104 lb, values not stated in the 24-page manual. They are retailer-page specifications for the listed model, not verified measurements of an individual bike; measure the actual unit and leave room to use it.

How it compares, and what remains unknown

Do not borrow specifications from another Echelon with a similar name. The current EX-5, EX-5s-22 and EX-8s have their own product pages; the EX-3 manual does not establish those models' screen options, dimensions, resistance counts, pedals or packages. The EX-15 manual family is another separate record. Even a clear family name is not a substitute for the serial label and instructions that fit the particular machine.

The most defensible conclusion is specific but limited: one historical U.S. black EX-3 retail configuration is identified as ECH01-EX3-BLACK, and Lowe's listed magnetic 32-level resistance, a 48 × 20 × 44-inch assembled size and 104 lb for it. The separate EX-3 manual family documents seated fit adjustments, a 300 lb limit, tablet-holder hardware and the Echelon Fit/Bluetooth resistance procedure. The retailer page does not prove the exact manual revision for any serial-numbered unit, current membership terms, a present offer or package contents for a used bike. For an existing machine, match its label and serial with Echelon support, check the adapter and adjustments, and measure the unit. This remains a historical reference, not a buying match.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

US retail SKUECH01-EX3-BLACK
Riding formatIndoor cycling / studio-style bike
Resistance mechanismMagnetic (lowe's listing for black model ech01-ex3-black; not transferred to an unidentified ex-3 unit).
Resistance levels32
Maximum user weight300 lb
ConsoleThe EX-3 manual names a console with a tablet holder; the historical Lowe's listing for black model ECH01-EX3-BLACK describes a rotating console and says the tablet is not included. This does not establish the package of a used unit or a different EX-3 configuration.
Listed length48 in
Listed width20 in
Listed height44 in
Named connected appsEchelon Fit

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Put the details together

Use the finder to compare format, app support, resistance steps and the limits that matter in your room.

In this review