Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What seat-entry and back-support setup does the ECH-REC-SPT manual show?
It documents a back-supported recumbent seat that slides along a rail and can rotate for easier mounting and dismounting; the handlebar reach can also move in or out. The manual gives no rider-height range.
Explore this need in the finder →What functions does the Recumbent Sport console list?
The ECH-REC-SPT Rev 04142025 manual says 300 lb, while the exact-code Amazon U.S. listing says 264.5 lb. Because these source claims conflict, the finder does not treat the bike as meeting any minimum weight-limit request; verify the exact unit label and instructions.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the manual verify current connected-app or class access for a resale unit?
It says Premier membership is required to connect to classes and points to Echelon Fit, but current subscription terms, entitlement transfer and a particular unit's app operation remain unknown. Verify account access and package details with the seller.
Explore this need in the finder →This desk-researched assessment covers the Echelon Recumbent Sport / ECH-REC-SPT model, not a bike we have ridden. Echelon Support’s separate 28-page manual names Recumbent Sport and prints Model ECH-REC-SPT and Rev 04142025. An Amazon U.S. detail listing identifies a single black Echelon Recumbent Sport Bike with the same model/part code and UPC, resolving the model-level retail identity. It does not identify an individual frame serial, current inventory, the manual revision of a unit or the complete contents of a seller’s package.
Back-supported seating with useful entry adjustments
The family is clearly different from Echelon’s Connect Sport and Sport-s indoor-cycle manuals. This document describes a recumbent configuration with a seat back, a seat that slides along a rail and an upper adjustment lever that allows the seat to rotate for mounting and dismounting. It also describes pulling the handlebars in or out to adjust reach. Those details are especially relevant when entry, back support or a more reclined riding position matters, but the manual does not give seat-travel measurements, user-height guidance or a promise of comfort for any particular rider. A reference drawing can explain the mechanism; it cannot replace an in-person fit check.
The ECH-REC-SPT manual states a 300 lb maximum user weight, but the exact-code Amazon U.S. listing says 264.5 lb. Because those model-specific sources conflict, this assessment withholds a single capacity value from the finder; neither claim is used to pass a hard minimum. Verify the exact frame label and its applicable instructions before relying on either number. The manual also calls for stopping the pedals before getting on or off and securing the seat’s sliding and rotating positions before exercise. Those locking steps matter because this arrangement has more than one movement point around the rider.
Console functions and what the numbers mean
The manual lists a console that can display time, speed, distance, calories, pulse, revolutions per minute and watts. Its control list includes Start/Stop, Reset, Enter, Recovery and a display-selection button. It also prints display ranges, including a pulse range of 40–240, RPM of 0–999 and watts of 0–899. These are the console’s stated display spans—not evidence of accuracy, calibration, clinical heart-rate measurement or a tested power curve. The document does not state a console screen size.
This differs from the Sport-s manual’s named 10-inch HD screen and from the Connect Sport manual’s tablet mount. The Recumbent Sport document describes a local console and hand-pulse wiring; it does not establish a tablet, touchscreen, Bluetooth protocol or third-party training app. It does direct owners to Echelon Fit for tutorials and says Premier membership is required to connect to classes. Current subscription terms and the features that remain usable without a membership need to be checked for the exact unit and account.
Resistance and room planning stay limited
The manual refers to a resistance knob and emergency brake in its safety and maintenance directions but publishes no numbered level count or physical mechanism. The Amazon listing claims 16 motorized plus 10 manual levels; because the model-specific manual does not enumerate those settings, the listing claim is not used as a verified matcher count. The manual also publishes no assembled length, width, height or product weight. The listing gives 57.9 x 44.9 x 29.5 inches without a reliable axis-order statement, so those figures are not assigned to length and width. The manual recommends two feet of clearance around the bike and separately gives a 19.7-inch minimum on one side and either behind or in front; those are access allowances, not a body footprint.
Check the actual seat, handgrips and account
For a used or open-box offer, ask the seller to show the model label and the ECH-REC-SPT revision information, then inspect the seat slide and rotation locks, handlebar reach adjustment, pedals, straps and the console. The manual’s assembly drawings include handgrip pulse wiring and its care section names a nylon toe-cage strap, but a document does not show whether those parts are intact on a particular bike. Ask whether the console powers on, whether the adapter is present, and what account or membership access—if any—transfers with the equipment. Do not assume a QR code or prior owner’s activation makes a current class subscription part of the sale.
The manual provides maintenance directions, but there is no evidence here about wear, noise, electronic faults, return rights or the seller’s warranty. If the offer is not returnable, a close inspection of the seat rail, rotating seat lock, adjustable handgrips, crank and display is a more defensible basis for a decision than a family name alone.
Exact model identity, unresolved unit details
The ECH-REC-SPT code and UPC on the U.S. retailer detail page agree with the official manual, so the model is included in broad recumbent-format results. That is not a claim that it meets a user-weight, room-size, resistance-count or named-app requirement: the maximum-weight claims conflict, the manual supplies no body dimensions or numbered levels, and it names Echelon Fit rather than Explore the World, JRNY or Zwift. The current official Echelon collection snapshot did not include a Recumbent Sport card, and neither that snapshot nor the retailer detail page establishes current stock. Before ordering, check the frame label, applicable manual, seat locks, console, pedals, adapter, membership activation, complete package, return terms and condition of the exact unit. Its manual-cover illustration identifies the model family, not the retail assembly or the completeness of an individual box.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Riding format | Recumbent |
|---|---|
| Resistance mechanism | Manual resistance control with an emergency-stop knob; physical resistance mechanism is not identified in the reviewed manual. |
| Console | The manual depicts a console with time, speed, distance, calories, pulse, RPM and watts readouts plus Start/Stop, Reset, Enter, Recovery and display controls; it does not state a console screen size. |
| Named connected apps | Echelon Fit |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Put the details together
Use the finder to compare format, app support, resistance steps and the limits that matter in your room.
