Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What does the Cross Training Bike+ add over the Cross Training Bike?
Peloton lists a larger 23.8-inch screen, optional automatic resistance on eligible classes, camera-based movement tracking, a three-speed fan, phone tray and Sonos-tuned speakers with a rear woofer. The listed Bike+ weighs 144 lb versus 129 lb for the Cross Training Bike. These are feature differences, not a guarantee the extra software tools improve every rider's workouts.
Explore this need in the finder →Does Bike+ always change resistance automatically?
No. Peloton describes auto-resistance as an option for workouts using Target Metrics, and its support instructions say it can be toggled. The bike can also be controlled manually. Check whether the classes you follow support Target Metrics before treating automatic control as essential.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the Bike+ fit my rider and room?
Peloton lists a 54 x 22 x 60 in machine, a 297 lb maximum and a 4 ft 11 in–6 ft 5 in user-height range. Its guidance recommends 24 inches around the bike and at least an 8 ft ceiling. Treat these as manufacturer screens, then check your own access route, movement space and reach on the exact unit.
Explore this need in the finder →Peloton · current US Cross Training Series
Peloton's Cross Training Bike+ is the premium home cycle in its current consumer lineup. It adds a larger rotating screen, camera, fan, phone tray, upgraded audio and optional cue-following resistance. This review uses current US product and support information; I have not ridden, owned or measured the bike.
What the Plus hardware changes
The Bike+ uses a 23.8-inch Full HD touchscreen that rotates through as much as 360 degrees. Peloton positions the swivel as useful for moving from cycling to strength, yoga and other off-bike classes. Its movement-tracking camera is tied to Peloton IQ features such as rep tracking and form feedback. Those are software tools, not a substitute for an instructor watching a rider in person. They are most relevant to buyers who plan to turn the bike area into a small multi-workout station rather than just a place to pedal.
Peloton also lists a three-speed fan, phone tray, Sonos-tuned front speakers with a rear woofer, hands-free control and a redesigned seat. The listing does not include weights, so strength sessions using dumbbells need separate equipment. Seat adjustment is mentioned without exact travel, and screen rotation does not create more floor area for moving around.
The current Bike+ is 54 by 22 by 60 inches and Peloton lists a total bike weight of 144 pounds. Its recommended clearance is at least 24 inches on all sides, with a minimum eight-foot ceiling. The heavier chassis and screen assembly should be considered when planning stairs, delivery and the final room. Peloton lists a 297-pound maximum user weight and a rider-height range from 4 feet 11 inches to 6 feet 5 inches. These are published product limits, not proof that the saddle position or reach will work for every rider in that range.
Automatic resistance is an option, not the default for every ride
The knob works manually; Auto-Resistance can follow cues on supported Peloton workouts. Peloton's support instructions limit it to classes using Target Metrics and say it may be toggled. Do not assume every live, on-demand or self-guided ride supports automatic control. Check the classes you use and whether you prefer to adjust resistance yourself.
Peloton does not publish a numbered resistance-level count on the current US Bike+ page. It also does not specify the mechanism or a third-party app protocol there. Bluetooth 5.2 appears in the specifications, but that fact alone does not establish FTMS or compatibility with a particular outside training app, sensor or service. If a non-Peloton platform is central to the decision, ask Peloton for a current, model-specific compatibility answer before assuming the bike will pair.
Like the base Cross Training Bike, the Bike+ uses aluminum pedals that require cycling shoes with Delta-compatible cleats. The product page does not describe toe cages for ordinary athletic shoes. Check shoe compatibility and whether footwear is in your offer package. A mismatch can turn a connected bike that otherwise fits your routine into an awkward purchase for everyone who will ride it.
Membership, fit and setup checks
All-Access Membership is separate and needed for Peloton's full content and applicable hardware features. Peloton also lists Just Ride without membership. Check the current terms against your planned use of classes and personalization; buying the Bike+ does not include the subscription.
Room planning means more than fitting the listed dimensions: measure the route, mount/dismount space, ceiling and floor area for screen-facing floor classes. Peloton links separate Bike and Bike+ assembly guides; confirm delivery assembly and read the exact guide. At 144 lb, this is not a casual move-around-the-room machine.
The current listing includes USB-C charging and Bluetooth 5.2, but does not state exact power input, FTMS, a third-party app list or screen adjustment travel. Do not infer those details from an older Original Series Bike+ or a retailer table.
Cross Training Bike+ versus Cross Training Bike
Compared with the standard Cross Training Bike, Bike+ has a larger screen (23.8 versus 21.5 inches), optional auto-resistance, camera, fan, phone tray and upgraded sound. Peloton lists it at 144 lb and 54 x 22 x 60 in; the standard Bike is 129 lb and 54 x 23 x 61 in. Both have the same user-height range, 297 lb maximum, manual control, Delta-cleat pedals and separate membership. The extra hardware matters only if you will use it.
Do not confuse it with the Original Series Bike+, which remains a separate refurbished/rental line. CPSC has identified certain Original Series PL02 bikes by serial and manufacture date in a seat-post recall. That is not the same product as the current Cross Training Bike+, and it does not establish the recall status or remedy of an individual refurbished unit. If buying used or refurbished, verify the frame label, serial, exact product generation and any required repair before using it.
Who should shortlist the Bike+
Shortlist Bike+ if you will use its rotating screen, camera, fan, phone tray or eligible-workout auto-resistance. It is less compelling if manual control is enough, you need verified outside-app support, or you prefer everyday-shoe pedals. Check the 12-month warranty, current membership, package, pedal/shoe contents, delivery and return terms. Its added features do not guarantee better results for every rider.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Riding format | Indoor cycling / studio-style bike |
|---|---|
| Maximum user weight | 297 lb |
| Console | 23.8-inch Full HD touchscreen with up to 360-degree rotation; Sonos-tuned front-facing speakers and rear woofer |
| Display size | 23.8 in |
| Listed length | 54 in |
| Listed width | 22 in |
| Listed height | 60 in |
| Assembled weight | 144 lb |
| Named connected apps | Peloton All-Access content |
| Built-in USB charging port | Yes |
| Seat | Redesigned seat; seat adjustment is listed but travel is not quantified |
| Pedals | Aluminum clip-in pedals requiring cycling shoes with delta-compatible cleats; toe cages are not listed |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Peloton US exercise-bike lineup
- Peloton Cross Training Bike+ US product details and specifications
- Peloton Cross Training Series Bike+ assembly and safety guide links
- Peloton membership and Cross Training Series use without membership
- Peloton Bike+ auto-resistance feature conditions
- CPSC Original Series Peloton Bike+ PL02 seat-post recall notice
- Official Peloton Cross Training Bike+ product image
Put the details together
Use the finder to compare format, app support, resistance steps and the limits that matter in your room.
