Fit

Upright, recumbent, indoor cycling or air bike?

“Exercise bike” covers several kinds of stationary cycling equipment. Frame shape and contact points influence how a rider gets on, where the torso sits and which other features matter. The format is a starting point for fit—not a promise of comfort or a health benefit.

Upright stationary bikes

An upright bike places the saddle above the pedals and generally has a more compact fore-aft frame than a recumbent machine. The reviewed Schwinn 130 and 190 are this style. Compare their specific seat and handlebar adjustments: the 190 page specifies four-way adjustable handlebars, while the 130 page describes ergonomically positioned padded bars but does not state a complete adjustment range. Do not carry the 190's adjustment details over to the 130.

Recumbent bikes

A recumbent layout places the rider in a more reclined seat position with a backrest. The current Schwinn 290 page describes an adjustable padded seat, ventilated back with lumbar support and stationary handlebars; its 66.4-inch body makes access space a major check. SOLE's new 2026 R92 and R98 add two shorter, 56-inch-listed bodies with a 15-position mesh-backed sliding seat and step-through frame. They differ at the console: R92 has tilting white LEDs and the page names SOLE+, while R98 has a 10.1-inch touchscreen and names Zwift and Peloton. Neither page gives an individual rider-height range. A listed backrest does not determine whether it fits your body or mobility needs; check the seat travel, step-in space and pedal reach for the exact machine.

Indoor-cycling bikes

Indoor-cycling or studio-style bikes usually emphasize a cycling posture and a different console/control arrangement from general-purpose upright or recumbent bikes. Their pedals, resistance controls and connected displays can differ model by model. The reviewed Keiser M3 5501 is a distinct magnetic indoor cycle with a 24-gear stand-alone computer and no documented app or heart-rate connection; its manual also carries a supervised Class S use label. The four M3i indoor cycles (5507, Lite 5503, Studio 5508 and Studio Plus 5509) are separate display and cockpit configurations, not substitutes for the M3. BowFlex's C6 is another distinct indoor-cycle SKU: it uses a backlit LCD and a rider-supplied device rather than a touchscreen. Do not transfer one edition's adjustment, app or fit facts to another.

Keiser's M3i Total Body Trainer 5512 is different again. It is a seated, magnetic-pedaling machine with moving arms and three documented arrangements, including upper-body-only work from stationary foot pegs. The moving arms do not make it an air-resistance bike: its resistance is magnetic. Its current model-page FAQ lists 300 lb while the exact manual and current shop list 350 lb, so resolve that conflict with Keiser before relying on the higher figure.

Air-resistance bikes

An air bike uses a fan for resistance; the Schwinn AirDyne AD6 and AD7 pages describe a direct-drive system and an upper/lower-body workout. They are not numbered magnetic-resistance models: Schwinn describes an ongoing challenge but does not publish a resistance-level count for either current US bike. The AD6 listing identifies a RevMeter and foot straps on self-balancing pedals; the AD7 listing identifies a four-way adjustable seat, multi-position handgrips and an included air diverter. Those differences belong to the particular model pages, not to every bike called an air bike.

Within Schwinn’s current pair, the AD6 lists a 300-pound maximum user weight and a 49.7-inch length; the AD7 lists 350 pounds and 53 inches. The AD7 also lists a high-resolution multi-display with watts and speed, whereas the AD6 listing uses “power” and names a RevMeter. Neither product page reviewed here establishes a connected app or a watt range. The discontinued AD2 remains a separate historical reference: its exact serial-number revision needs a matching manual, and it is not included as a current buying match.

Make posture the first filter

Ask what position you will actually use, how you will enter and leave the frame, and which parts must adjust for the rider. Then check the published limits, shoe/pedal interface and room dimensions. If you are comparing formats for a medical or rehabilitation reason, consult an appropriately qualified clinician and verify the exact equipment independently; this buying guide is not medical advice.

Use the finder for the format labels supported by the reviewed facts, and open the individual model reviews before treating a match as more than a documented feature screen.

When an upright seated bike is the format you want

Decision: “Choose ‘Upright seated bike’ for a conventional seated frame; this library returns Schwinn 130 and 190, SOLE LCB and Keiser M3i Total Body Trainer 5512. The FitNation Vertical Cycle Trainer is a separate standing-pedal model, so it is not a match for this seated-bike request.” The 130 lists 16 magnetic steps and Explore the World/Zwift support; the 190 lists 25 steps, JRNY/Zwift and four-way handlebar adjustment. The current LCB-2023 page adds 40 EMS settings, a 350 lb published maximum, a 10.1-inch touchscreen and a 56 x 29-inch body; its page names SOLE+ but not the finder's three third-party apps. The TBT is a wider, 29-inch-bodied magnetic machine with moving arms, 24 displayed gears, optional upper-body work and no way to lock its arms. It fits the upright seated-pedaling label, not the air-bike choice. The TBT's weight-capacity sources conflict (model FAQ 300 lb; exact manual and current shop 350 lb), so confirm the rating for the specific unit. These published differences do not predict that one position will feel right for every body.

Read the 130 assessment, read the 190 assessment, read the LCB assessment and read the Total Body Trainer 5512 assessment; read the separate standing-trainer assessment; find all reviewed upright matches.

When you want a recumbent frame with a backrest

Decision: “Choose ‘Recumbent bike with a backrest’ when that frame and entry style are essential; the current reviewed set returns eight models, including Echelon Recumbent Sport, NordicTrack 10 Recumbent, Schwinn 230/290 and four SOLE recumbents.” Echelon Recumbent Sport's exact ECH-REC-SPT manual family adds a back-supported seat with slide and rotation, but its official 300 lb limit conflicts with the exact-code U.S. listing's 264.5 lb claim; capacity is therefore withheld from numeric matching. The newer NordicTrack 10 Recumbent is a distinct US model (NTEX14925): its current manufacturer pages list 26 magnetic settings, a 350-pound maximum, 67.2 x 23.3-inch body and a 10-inch touchscreen. The “10” is the display size, not the resistance count. Its adjustable cushioned seat and backrest do not establish personal comfort, easy transfer or a rider-specific fit range. The Schwinn 230 lists a 64-inch body, 16 magnetic steps and Explore the World/Zwift; the 290 lists 66.4 inches, 25 steps and JRNY/Zwift. The R92 and R98 list 56 x 29-inch bodies, a 300-pound maximum and 20 ECB levels; the R92 uses an LED console, while the R98 names Zwift for its touchscreen configuration. The LCR-2023 page lists a 10.1-inch screen, 40 EMS settings and 350 pounds, but its linked 2026 manual creates an unresolved use/warranty conflict. The distinct LCR-2026 page names Zwift and lists a 15.6-inch display, 350 pounds and a 56 x 29 x 61-inch body, but its resistance count conflicts between 20 and 40 and is not treated as confirmed. These app, console, size and use limitations make the exact model more informative than a frame label alone. Even the shorter bodies need room for approach, seat travel, pedal movement and assembly. No review makes an individual comfort or therapeutic claim.

Compare the Echelon Recumbent Sport, NordicTrack 10 Recumbent, 230, 290, SOLE LCR-2023, SOLE LCR-2026, SOLE R92 (2026) and SOLE R98 (2026), then find all reviewed recumbent matches.

When you mean a studio-style indoor cycle

Decision: “Choose ‘Indoor cycling / studio-style bike’ for a studio-cycle posture; the finder returns 24 catalogue matches: 22 compared bikes plus separate manual-linked Echelon Connect Sport (ECH-SPORT) and Connect Sport-s (ECH-SPORT-S). Their package details differ and remain unconfirmed.” Find all reviewed studio-style matches. Review the separate Connect Sport ECH-SPORT assessment and Connect Sport-s ECH-SPORT-S assessment; verify the exact checkout item and delivered package for either model.

The 22 specifically compared models also include the exact Connect 4s / EX-4s-10, SKU ECH01-EX4s-10, and the separate Connect EX-4s+ model ECHEX-4S-15-C / Costco item 2622002. The EX-4s manual for the 4s-10 identifies a seated cycle and lists a 300 lb limit; its manufacturer page displayed Sold Out on 2026-10-31. This is not an availability promise. The EX-4s+ manual names its own model code and also states 300 lb; Costco's matching US item listing identifies a 15.6-inch HD touchscreen and 32 magnetic settings. Its exact offer displayed Unavailable on 2026-10-31, which is a dated seller state. The same item/model code on Costco.ca lists body dimensions of 54.3 x 19.9 x 48.8 inches; because the US page omits dimensions, confirm the shipped US package and exact measurements. The 4s+ is not the 4s-10, and its documented screen/count do not transfer to the latter. The set also includes Schwinn IC3/IC4, Peloton Cross Training Bike/Bike+, BowFlex C6 and Keiser M3 5501 plus four separately configured M3i models. NordicTrack's Studio Series page distinguishes the flat S24 (250 lb maximum, 55.8 x 21.7-inch body) from the X24 incline/decline frame (-10% to 20%, 350 lb, 56.4 x 21.8 inches). The US Tour De France entry is a different NTEXTDF25 configuration: it lists 350 lb, a 56.43 x 21.77-inch body, digital gear sets and powered -10% to 20% movement, with a 24-inch pivoting screen. Its captured item was marked out of stock; it is not evidence of a current offer. The Tour De France record does not state a numeric resistance-level count or compatibility with the finder's three named apps. VeloCore is a different current HFC0072-OS listing: it leans or stays stationary, lists 100 magnetic levels and a 325 lb maximum, and offers nominal 16- or 22-inch touchscreen configurations. The exact screen in a particular box is not shown by the listing's default item; its historical 16-inch namesake is a separate discontinued model. Echelon's six other current reviewed consumer-cycle configurations are EX-8s with a curved 24-inch-class fitted screen, EX-5s-22 with a 22-inch-class screen, EX-5 with a separate device holder, EX-5s-10 with a 10-inch touchscreen, EX-7s with a current page/manual screen-size conflict, and the runDisney-labelled EX-30-RCX with a battery console. The EX-5s-10 remains a separate configuration whose numerical resistance count is unknown. The exact EX-5, EX-5s-10 and EX-30-RCX resistance mechanisms remain unconfirmed. The EX-4s+ lists 32 settings and 300 lb, but its package, controls and app evidence differ from other Echelon models. The EX-7s has no reviewed body dimensions, and the EX-30-RCX metric dimension axes are unlabeled. Echelon's support page says Echelon Fit does not currently integrate with Zwift, so its generic Bluetooth is not a match for the finder's three named apps; EX-4s+ is not documented as Explore the World, JRNY or Zwift compatible. Check runDisney-offer eligibility and the exact screen/package before buying the EX-30-RCX. S24 and X24 each list 24 levels and 24-inch screens, but shared numbers do not mean the same frame or capacity. The M3 5501 has a stand-alone 24-gear display and no documented connectivity; M3i 5507 and Lite 5503 show 24 gears; Studio 5508/5509 show 72. Zwift evidence is specific to M3i 5507, not the M3 or every M3i. Schwinn IC3 has infinitely variable control and no named app confirmed, while IC4 lists 100 magnetic steps and several integrations. C6 also lists 100 magnetic steps and JRNY, Peloton and Zwift, but its LCD is not a video screen: app use relies on a separate phone or tablet and service terms vary. Peloton Bike uses manual resistance while Bike+ adds supported auto-resistance. Check exact pedals, adjustment, fit evidence, app/device support and package. NordicTrack's iFIT membership and activation requirements are separate from the finder's named-app options. The manual-linked ECH-SPORT Connect Sport remains a separate model with a 300 lb manual limit, but the current seller route labels it Warranty Product and does not establish a complete-bike package. The separate ECH-SPORT-S manual family is seated and lists 300 lb and a 42 x 20.5-inch body; its U.S. retailer title identifies Connect Sport-S but does not confirm a retail SKU, in-box assembly or offer state. Neither manual supplies a numbered resistance count, and neither family inherits the other's specifications. Read the Connect Sport and Connect Sport-s assessments before checking the exact checkout item.

Read the IC3, IC4, BowFlex C6, VeloCore Bike - 22, Echelon Connect 4s / EX-4s-10, Echelon EX-4s+, Echelon EX-8s, EX-5s-22, EX-5, EX-5s-10, EX-7s, EX-30-RCX, Connect Sport ECH-SPORT, Connect Sport-s ECH-SPORT-S, Cross Training Bike, Cross Training Bike+, Keiser M3 5501, M3i 5507, M3i Lite 5503, Studio 5508, Studio Plus 5509, NordicTrack S24, NordicTrack X24 and Tour De France Bike assessments; find all reviewed studio-style matches.

When moving handles and air resistance are central

Choose “Air-resistance bike with moving handles” when the dual-action format is part of the workout, not merely because a console displays watts. The current reviewed buying set has the Schwinn AD6 and AD7. Both use air resistance and moving handles, but the AD7 lists a four-way adjustable seat and a 350-pound maximum; the AD6 lists a 300-pound maximum and self-balancing strapped pedals. Neither publishes a numbered resistance-level count, so do not translate an air-bike readout into the numeric step question. The discontinued AD2 remains a reference-only identification article, not a match.

Review the AD6 and AD7, then find all reviewed air-bike matches.

Format and app must be supported together

Choose an app and riding format together only when both matter. A single-app result does not guarantee that every frame in a format has the same connection. “Explore the World” plus the recumbent format returns the 230, not the 290; “JRNY” plus an upright format returns the 190, not the 130. For indoor cycles, Zwift returns the Keiser M3i 5507, Schwinn IC4 and BowFlex C6; the reviewed Keiser Lite and Studio versions do not name Zwift, the Peloton plans list Peloton content, and the IC3 has no named compatible app in its reviewed facts. The C6 route uses a separate device and does not provide an integrated touchscreen. SOLE LCB and LCR list SOLE+ and Bluetooth/FTMS features but do not name this finder's three third-party apps. A recumbent+Zwift search adds the SOLE R98 and both Schwinn recumbents, but the R98 is the only reviewed one at 56 inches long; neither SOLE R92 nor LCR has a named Zwift listing.

Decision: “For an upright bike with JRNY documented, the 190 is the one reviewed match; the 130 and SOLE LCB do not list JRNY.” Find upright bikes with JRNY. Read the 190; compare the excluded-by-app 130 and SOLE LCB.

Decision: “For a recumbent bike with Explore the World documented, the 230 matches; the 290 and both SOLE LCR configurations do not name that app.” Find recumbent bikes with Explore the World. Read the 230, 290, LCR-2023 and LCR-2026 assessments to compare their different app lists.

A shorter room screen creates a different result from recumbent-plus-Zwift alone. The Schwinn 230 and 290 name Zwift but their listed bodies exceed 56 inches; SOLE R92 and LCR-2023 do not name Zwift, while the R98 and separate LCR-2026 list the app and 56-inch body lengths. These are body dimensions, not access clearance. LCR-2026's own page still conflicts on resistance count, which is why it cannot meet a hard levels minimum.

Decision: “With a recumbent frame and Zwift, the Schwinn 230 and 290, SOLE R98 and separate SOLE LCR-2026 match; the SOLE R92 and LCR-2023 do not have named Zwift listings.” Find recumbent bikes with Zwift. Read the 230, 290, R98 and LCR-2026; compare the R92 and LCR-2023, neither of which has a named Zwift claim.

Decision: “With a recumbent frame, Zwift and a 56-inch maximum listed length, SOLE R98 and LCR-2026 are the two reviewed matches.” Find recumbent Zwift bikes no longer than 56 listed inches. Review the R98 and LCR-2026; compare the R92 and LCR-2023 for the same body length without a named Zwift route, and the 230 and 290 for longer Zwift-supported bodies.

Decision: “At a 55-inch body-length maximum, no reviewed recumbent meets the combined Zwift requirement.” No-match explanation: R98 and LCR-2026 are each listed at 56 inches long; R92 and LCR-2023 have no named Zwift listing; and the Schwinn 230 and 290 bodies exceed 55 inches. This is a result for the current reviewed library, not proof that no other recumbent elsewhere supports the app. Check the 55-inch recumbent Zwift screen; do not omit the fit or clearance check if you reconsider the room threshold.

Decision: “Among reviewed indoor cycles, Zwift plus the indoor-cycle format returns Keiser M3i 5507, Schwinn IC4, BowFlex C6 and VeloCore.” Find indoor cycles with Zwift. Read the M3i 5507, IC4, C6 and VeloCore Bike - 22; the reviewed IC3, Peloton Cross Training Bike/Bike+ and NordicTrack Tour De France do not meet this named-app requirement. VeloCore has a built-in screen and its product page names Zwift, but its app account, subscription and exact screen-package terms remain a separate check; C6 uses a separate compatible phone/tablet. Tour De France names iFIT, not Zwift, and the SOLE R98's Zwift claim belongs to its recumbent configuration, not this indoor-cycle set.

Decision: “No reviewed air bike currently has a documented Zwift connection in this library.” No-match explanation: neither the AD6 nor AD7 product information reviewed here confirms Zwift, so an unknown app route cannot satisfy a hard requirement; this is a gap in this reviewed set, not proof that no air bike anywhere supports it. Check the air-bike and Zwift combination. Read the AD6 and AD7 assessments for the app-evidence limits.

Turn a preference into a practical shortlist

Build my shortlist →